STUDENT CONCERTS

About Our Student Concerts

Types of Concert

Lunchtime Concerts

Lunchtime concerts take place in Wells Cathedral School’s Quilter Hall (please click here for directions) at 1.05pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and on occasional Fridays during term-time unless stated otherwise below. These concerts are an important opportunity for our specialist musicians to perform their solo repertoire. Doors open 15 minutes before the start of the concert, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

There is a retiring collection in aid of Friends of Music at Wells Cathedral School.

Performance Platforms

Performance Platforms take place in Cedars Hall or Quilter Hall. These events are an opportunity for each department to present a unique showcase of their musicians’ repertoire, resulting in inspiring performances with an individual departmental flavour.

Doors open 15 minutes before the start, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

Your Visit

Please click here for useful information about your visit, including how to get here and where to park.

Masterclasses

Public masterclasses are a great opportunity to experience high-profile artists coaching our specialist musicians at an advanced level. Make the most of this unique chance to hear celebrated international, and often award-winning, musicians share their knowledge and skills, free of charge!

Doors open 15 minutes before the start and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so we recommend that you check the details in the calendar below before attending.

Autumn 2018 Calendar

Where no ticketing information is provided, the concert is free to attend.

September

Saturday 15th September, 7.30pm: Music for the Mind Concert, Cedars Hall, £30-£50
Sunday 16th September, 4.00pm: Afternoon Recital – Priston Music Festival, St Luke’s and St Andrew’s Church in Priston. For tickets, please visit www.priston.org.uk/festival
Sunday 23rd September, 8.00pm: Student Gala Concert, Cedars Hall, £10 unreserved
Tuesday 25th September, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Wednesday 26th September, 12.30pm: Lunchtime Concert, St John the Baptist Church, Midsomer Norton
Thursday 27th September, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall

October

Tuesday 2nd October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Thursday 4th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 5th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 5th October, 7.00pm: Student Gala Concert, Cedars Hall, £10 unreserved
Tuesday 9th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Thursday 11th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 12th and Saturday 13th October, 7.00pm: Wells Cathedral School Symphony Orchestra Concert A Night at the Oscars, Cedars Hall. Tickets: £15, Free for 25s and under
Monday 15th October, 1.05pm: New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert (pianists), Wells Cathedral
Tuesday 16th October, 1.05pm: New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert, Wells Cathedral
Tuesday 16th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Wednesday 17th October, 1.05pm: New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert, Wells Cathedral
Thursday 18th October, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 19th October, 4.15pm: Brass Performance Platform: Teatime Trombones and Tubas, Quilter Hall (PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS CONCERT HAS BEEN POSTPONED)

November
Sunday 4th November, 3.00pm: Double Bass Concert, Quilter Hall
Tuesday 6th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Thursday 8th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 9th November, 1.05pm: Rock and Pop Department: The Fridge Timers, Cedars Hall
Friday 9th November, 7.00pm: Vocal Department Performance Platform, Quilter Hall
Tuesday 13th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Thursday 15th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Saturday 17th November, 7.00pm: Showcase Concert: Jazz Orchestra, Cedars Hall. Tickets: £10 – £17, Free for 25s and under
Monday 19th November, 7.00pm: Jazz in the Foyer, Cedars Hall
Tuesday 20th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Wednesday 21st November, 7.00pm: Going Solo Concert, Cedars Hall
Thursday 22nd November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Monday 26th November, 7.00pm: Rock for Young Minds: Rock and Popular Music Department Showcase, Cedars Hall
Tuesday 27th November, 1.05pm: Percussion Lunchtime Concert, Cedars Hall
Wednesday 28th November, 7.00pm: Woman to Woman On Tour with Wells Musicians, Cedars Hall
Tickets: £35
Thursday 29th November, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall

December
Sunday 2nd December, 3.00pm: String Department Performance Platform, Cedars Hall
Tuesday 4th December, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Thursday 6th December, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 7th December, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Friday 7th December, 4.15pm: Brass Department Performance Platform: Junior School, Quilter Hall
Friday 7th December, 7.00pm: Woodwind Department Performance Platform, Quilter Hall
Saturday 8th December, 11.30am: WYMSO Concert, Quilter Hall
Sunday 9th December, 3.00pm: Keyboard Department Performance Platform, Cedars Hall
Monday 10th December, 7.30pm: Choralia Concert for FOMWCS (Preceded by the FOMWCS AGM), Cedars Hall
Tuesday 11th December, 1.05pm: Lunchtime Concert, Quilter Hall
Tuesday 11th December, 7.00pm: Composers’ Concert, Cedars Hall