STUDENT CONCERTS

About Our Student Concerts

Types of Concert

Lunchtime Concerts

Lunchtime concerts take place in Wells Cathedral School’s Quilter Hall (please click here for directions) at 1.05pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and on occasional Fridays during term-time unless stated otherwise below. These concerts are an important opportunity for our specialist musicians to perform their solo repertoire. Doors open 15 minutes before the start of the concert, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

There is a retiring collection in aid of Friends of Music at Wells Cathedral School.

Performance Platforms

Performance Platforms take place in Cedars Hall or Quilter Hall. These events are an opportunity for each department to present a unique showcase of their musicians’ repertoire, resulting in inspiring performances with an individual departmental flavour.

Doors open 15 minutes before the start, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

Your Visit

Please click here for useful information about your visit, including how to get here and where to park.

Masterclasses

Public masterclasses are a great opportunity to experience high-profile artists coaching our specialist musicians at an advanced level. Make the most of this unique chance to hear celebrated international, and often award-winning, musicians share their knowledge and skills, free of charge!

Doors open 15 minutes before the start and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so we recommend that you check the details in the calendar below before attending.

Spring 2019 Calendar

Where no ticketing information is provided, the concert is free to attend.

January

Friday 11 January, 10.00am – 4.00pm City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra: Percussion workshops with students from Wells Cathedral School and Royal Birmingham Conservatoire Cedars Hall

Saturday 12 January, 7.00pm Planet Percussion Concert Cedars Hall Click here for tickets

Saturday 13 January, 10.00am – 4.00pm City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra: Percussion workshops with students from Wells Cathedral School and Royal Birmingham Conservatoire Cedars Hall

Tuesday 15 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 17 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Sunday 20 January, 3.00pm Teatime Concert with Alexander Heather (Double Bass), Bruce Fang (Piano) and Cristina Dimitrova (Violin) St Endellion Church (St Endellion, Cornwall) Tickets:  [email protected]

Tuesday 22 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 22 January, 7.00pm Brass and Percussion Promenade Concert Wells Cathedral Click here for tickets

Wednesday 23 January, 7.00pm Woodwind Promenade Concert Wells Cathedral Click here for tickets

Thursday 24 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 25 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 25 January, 7.00pm Double Bass Concert in tribute to Frantisek Posta Quilter Hall

Sunday 27 January, 8.00pm Young Musicians’ Gala Concert with Alexander Heather (Double Bass) and Bruce Fang (Piano) Click here for tickets

Monday 28 January, 7.00pm Jazz in the Foyer The John Baxter Foyer, Cedars Hall

Tuesday 29 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Wednesday 30 January, 1.05pm Chamber Music Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 31 January, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

February

Friday 1 February, 10.00am – 1.00pm Violin Masterclass with Tasmin Little Quilter Hall

Friday 1 February, 10.00am – 4.00pm Drumming Workshop with Dave Smith Cedars Hall

Saturday 2 February, 7.00pm Performance Platform: Woodwind Department Cedars Hall

Sunday 3 February, 8.00pm Showcase Concert Cedars Hall

Monday 4 February, 7.00pm Musical Extravaganza Cedars Hall Retiring Collection for Music for Young Minds

Tuesday 5 February, 10.00am – 2.30pm Malcolm Arnold Trumpet Competition Cedars Hall

Tuesday 5 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 7 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 7 February, 10.00am – 4.00pm Septura Brass Septet Workshops Cedars Hall

Friday 8 February, 1.05pm Rock and Pop Lunchtime Concert Cedars Hall

Friday 8 February, 4.00pm Performance Platform: Brass Department Quilter Hall

Tuesday 19 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 21 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 21 February, 1.05pm Organ Recital Wells Cathedral

Thursday 21 February, 4.00pm Junior School Instrumental Concert Cedars Hall

Friday 22 February, 1.05pm Jazz Department Lunchtime Concert Cedars Hall

Sunday 24 February, 8.00pm Showcase Concert Cedars Hall Click here for tickets

Monday 25 February, 10.00am – 4.00pm Double Bass Masterclass with Martin Rosso Quilter Hall

Tuesday 26 February, 10.0 am – 4.00pm Trumpet Masterclass with Paul Cosh Quilter Hall

Tuesday 26 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 26 February, 7.00pm Rock and Pop Department Showcase Cedars Hall

Wednesday 27 February, 1.05pm Chamber Music Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 28 February, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

March

Friday 1 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 1 March, 7.00pm Fire and Water Royal Academy of Music and Wells Cathedral School Brass and Percussion Concert Cedars Hall Click here for tickets

Saturday 2 March, 6.00pm Event on the Lawn Cedars Field

Sunday 3 March, 3.00pm Performance Platform: String Department Quilter Hall

Tuesday 5 March,1.05pm Percussion Department Lunchtime Concert Cedars Hall

Thursday 7 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 8 March, 10.00am – 1.00pm Chamber Music Masterclass: Endellion Quartet Wells Museum

Friday 8 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 12 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 12 March, 8.00pm Composers’ Concert Cedars Hall

Thursday 14 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 15 March, 1.05pm Double Bass Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Saturday 16 March, 7.30pm Wells Cathedral School Jazz Orchestra Strode Theatre Click here for tickets

Sunday 17 March, 4.00pm Wells String Orchestra Concert Conducted by Philip Dukes Cedars Hall Click here for tickets

Sunday 17 March, 8.00pm Performance Platform: Vocal Department Cedars Hall

Tuesday 19 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Wednesday 20 March, 7.00pm Second Study Concert Quilter Hall

Thursday 21 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Friday 22 March, 4.00pm Performance Platform: Junior Brass Department Quilter Hall

Saturday 23 March, 11.30am Trumpets and Organ Concert St Laurence’s Church, East Harptree

Friday 22 and Saturday 23 March, 7.00pm Walton Cello Concerto and Duruflé Requiem with Conductors: David Watkin and Christopher Finch and Cello: Rebecca Farthing Cedars Hall Click here for tickets

Sunday 24 March, 6.00pm Performance Platform: Keyboard Department Cedars Hall

Monday 25 March, 1.05pm Keyboard Recital: Jesse Meng, Piano Rivervale Primary School Cedars Hall

Monday 25 March, 7.00pm Jazz in the Foyer The John Baxter Foyer, Cedars Hall

Monday 25 March, 7.00pm Double Bass Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 26 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall

Tuesday 26 March, 7.00pm Special Provision Concert Quilter Hall

Wednesday 27 March, 1.00pm String Ensemble Concert Bishops Palace Retiring collection

Wednesday 27 March, 7.00pm Going Solo Concert Cedars Hall

Thursday 28 March, 1.05pm Lunchtime Concert Quilter Hall