PUPIL CONCERTS

About Our Pupil Concerts

Types of Concert

Lunchtime Concerts

Lunchtime concerts take place in Wells Cathedral School’s Quilter Hall (please click here for directions) at 1.05pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and on occasional Fridays during term-time unless stated otherwise below. These concerts are an important opportunity for our specialist musicians to perform their solo repertoire. Doors open 15 minutes before the start of the concert, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

There is a retiring collection in aid of Friends of Music at Wells Cathedral School.

Performance Platforms

Performance Platforms take place in Cedars Hall or Quilter Hall. These events are an opportunity for each department to present a unique showcase of their musicians’ repertoire, resulting in inspiring performances with an individual departmental flavour.

Doors open 15 minutes before the start, admission is free of charge, and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so please check the calendar before attending.

Your Visit

Please click here for useful information about your visit, including how to get here and where to park.

Masterclasses

Public masterclasses are a great opportunity to experience high-profile artists coaching our specialist musicians at an advanced level. Make the most of this unique chance to hear celebrated international, and often award-winning, musicians share their knowledge and skills, free of charge!

Doors open 15 minutes before the start and everyone is welcome.

Please note times and location may be subject to change so we recommend that you check the details in the calendar below before attending.

Autumn 2019 Calendar

Where no ticketing information is provided, the concert is free to attend.

September

Saturday 14th September 6.00pm
Trumpet Recital – Priston Music Festival
St Luke and St Andrew Church, Priston

Tuesday 24th September, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Wednesday 25th September, 12.30pm
Lunchtime Concert
St John the Baptist Church, Midsomer Norton

Thursday 26th September, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

October

Tuesday 1st October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 3rd October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 3rd October, 7.30pm
Soloists Recital – Crowcombe Court Concert Series
Crowcombe Court
Tickets: 01984 618752

Saturday 5th October, 7.00pm
Choral Fanfare Concert
Cedars Hall
Tickets: Box Office 01749 834483

Tuesday 8th October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 10th October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Friday 11th October, 1.05pm
New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert – New Music Ensemble perform pupil compositions
Wells Cathedral

Monday 14th October, 1.05 pm
New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert – New Music Ensemble perform works
Wells Cathedral

Tuesday 15th October, 1.05pm
New Music Wells Lunchtime Concert (Pianoworks)
Wells Cathedral

Tuesday 15th October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Wednesday 16th and Thursday 17th October, 8.00pm
Wells Cathedral School Symphony Orchestra Concert
Cedars Hall
Tickets: £15, Free for 25s and under (http://cedarshall.events / 01749 834483)

Thursday 17th October, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

November

Tuesday 5th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 7th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Saturday 9th November, 7.00pm
String Department Performance Platform
Quilter Hall

Saturday 9th November, 7.00pm
Brass and Wind Chamber Music Concert – Stoke St Gabriel Concert Series
St Mary and St Gabriel Church
Tickets: On the door

Monday 11th November, 7.00pm
Jazz in the Foyer
John Baxter Foyer

November, continued

Tuesday 12th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 14th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 14th November, 1.05pm
Student Organ Recital
Wells Cathedral

Saturday 16th November, 7.00pm (please note new date)
Woodwind Performance Platform
Quilter Hall

Sunday 17th November, 4.00pm
Wells String Orchestra Concert conducted by David Watkin
Tickets: Box Office 01749 834483

Sunday 17th November, 7.45pm
Vocal Department Performance Platform
Quilter Hall

Tuesday 19th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Wednesday 20th November, 7.00pm
Going Solo Concert
Cedars Hall

Thursday 21st November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Friday 22nd November, 1.05pm
Jazz Lunchtime Concert
Cedars Hall

Tuesday 26th November, 1.05pm
Percussion Department Lunchtime Concert
Cedars Hall

Tuesday 26th November, 7.00pm
Composers’ Concert
Cedars Hall

Wednesday 27th November, 7.00pm
Student Gala Concert
Retiring Collection for the Friends of Music at Wells Cathedral School

Thursday 28th November, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

December

Sunday 1st December, 3.00pm
Keyboard Department Performance Platform
Cedars Hall

Tuesday 3rd December, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Thursday 5th December, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Friday 6th December, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Saturday 7th December, 11.30am
WYMSO Concert
Quilter Hall

Saturday 7th December, 12.00pm
Brass Concert – East Harptree Concert Series
St Laurence Church, East Harptree

Monday 9th December, 7.30pm
Trumpet and Organ Concert for FOMWCS (Preceded by the FOMWCS AGM)
Quilter Hall

Tuesday 10th December, 1.05pm
Lunchtime Concert
Quilter Hall

Wednesday 11th December, 10.00am – 5.00pm
Wells Cathedral School Symphony Orchestra – Mendelssohn Italian Project (Seminar, 10.00am, Performance 4.30pm)
Tickets: Box Office 01749 834483

New Scholarships
worth up to 50%

Apply by 10 January
to take part in our
Scholarship Day
on 30 January

Find out more and apply