Flywire's payment experience


Our Governing Body comprises three out of eight members of the Chapter of Wells Cathedral together with other lay Governors. Our Governors’ Committees meet to review various aspects of the School. Please see below for more information about our governors and their committees.

Mr David Brown, OBE, MA

Chair of Governors since 2022
Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2014
Trustee of Wells Cathedral School Foundation
Chief Executive, Bristol Port Company since 2016
Chief Operations Officer, Bristol Port Company 2015-2016
Operations Director, Bristol Port Company 2007-2015
HM Forces (Army) 1986-2007
Father of one daughter and two sons (OW)

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the Clerk to the Governors using the Registered Office Address on our contact us page.

Prebendary Harry Musselwhite BA FKC Barrister

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2021
Lay Member of the Wells Cathedral Chapter and Chair of the Cathedral’s Finance and Remuneration Committees since 2018
Chair, Bath and Wells Diocesan Board of Finance 2010-2020
Director/Trustee of Glastonbury Abbey 2007-2020
Vice Chair, Bath and Wells Diocesan Board of Finance 2007-2010
Vice Principal and Director of Employee Relations, King’s College London 2006-2010
Special Advisor to the Principal & President of King’s College London 2010-2014
Head of Administration and College Secretary, King’s College London 1998-2006

Prebendary Emeritus Barbara Bates, BA, MA, FRSA

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2009
Boarding Governor
Chair of Pastoral & Recreation Committee
Governor of Bristol Grammar School since 2010
Member of the Chapter of Wells Cathedral 2009-2015
Former Principal, Bruton School for Girls
Former Head, Roedean School
Member of the Wessex Regional Committee of the National Trust 2006-2012
Inspector for the Independent Schools’ Inspectorate 1998-2012

Mr Andrew Campbell-Orde, FCCA

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2017
Chair of the Finance & Audit Committee
Head of Audit, (South) KPMG since 2015
Audit Partner, KPMG since 2007
Audit Director, KPMG 2005-2007
Audit and transaction services, KPMG 1998-2005
Governor/Chair of Finance Oakhill C of E Primary 1998–2010
Father of one son and one daughter (both OW)

Mr Martin Cooke, BEd

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2019
Chair of the Academic Committee
Governor, Durlston Court Preparatory School since 2006
Governor, Exeter Cathedral School, 2001-2008
Headmaster, Clayesmore School 2000-2016
Headmaster, Clayesmore Preparatory School 1994-2000
Second Master, Bembridge School, Isle of Wight 1985-1994
Director of Music, Bembridge School, Isle of Wight 1979-1994
Director of Music, Holy Trinity, Bradford on Avon since 2017
Father of one daughter and one sonRevd

Revd Canon Dr Megan Daffern, MA Hons (Oxon), MA Hons (Cantab) DPhil

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2023
Canon Chancellor of Wells Cathedral since 2023
Acting Dean and Director of Studies in Theology, Gonville and Caius, University of Cambridge 2022-2023
Tutor and Bye-Fellow, Lucy Cavendish College, University of Cambridge 2021-2023
Associate Tutor, Eastern Region Ministry Course since 2019
Diocesan Director of Ordinands and Vocations, Diocese of Ely 2019-2021
Trustee, Oxford Diocesan Schools’ Trust 2017-2019
Associate, Higher Education Academy since 2014
Member, Society for Old Testament Study since 2012
Chaplain, Jesus College, Oxford 2009-2019
Assistant Curate, Rugby Team Ministry, Diocese of Coventry 2006-2009
External Member, Sheffield Institute of Interdisciplinary Biblical Studies, since 2021
Tutor / Supervisor, Lecturer, Examiner within the Theology Faculty, Oxford and Divinity Faculty, Cambridge, 2014-2019 and 2021-2023 respectively

Mr Andrew Gummer, LLB

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2019
Director of Coro (The Sixteen) record label
Manager, Pink Floyd Companies
President, Fintage Music and Rights Agency Limited 2014-2017
Director of Business Affairs, Boosey & Hawkes/Imagem Group 2003-2014
Director of Business Affairs, Mushroom Records 1999-2003
Law LLB Exeter University – 1983
Father of one daughter (currently at WCS) and two sons (OWs)

Mr Tim Lewis, BA Hons (Cantab), FCA

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2015
Trustee of Wells Cathedral School Foundation since 2008 and Chair of its Investment Committee
Partner, KPMG Hong Kong 1986-2001
Governor, Kellett School, Hong Kong 1992-1998
Member of Listing Committee, Hong Kong Stock Exchange 1990-1994 and 1997-2001
Council member (director), Hong Kong Stock Exchange 1994- 1999
Trustee of Somerset Chamber Choir
Trustee of Friends of the Ridgeway
Father of one daughter and two sons

Mrs Dorothy Nancekievill MA,BMus,PGCE,Hon ARAM

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2022
Forty years education experience in both State and Independent schools
Held school senior management positions at all levels
Joined Wells Cathedral School as Deputy Director of Music in 1999, became Director of Music in 2000
Head of Farringtons School 2015 – 2020
Current Governor at Kingswood School, Bath
Consultant for MIST (Methodist Independent Schools Trust)
Conductor of the International Staff Songsters of the Salvation Army
Mother of two boys (both OWs)

Mr Robert Powell

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2016
H&S Governor
Chairman of Wells Chamber of Commerce since 2017
Chair of Development Committee
Wells Abbeyfield Society Executive Committee since 2013
Wells Sports Club Committee since 2010
Trustee Wells Cathedral Chorister Trust since 2004
Director Basil Powell Shoes Ltd since 1989
Father of two daughters (OW 2002-2015)

Mr Kris Robbetts, MA MSc

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2019
Partner, VWV LLP, Bristol & London
Solicitor specialising in Education Law (independent schools & higher education) since 2006
Trustee, Avon Youth Association, Bristol 2006-16
Resident Assistant Housemaster, Cedars House, Wells Cathedral School 1999-2001
AHRB (British Academy) Scholar, 2000-01

Professor Jeffrey Sharkey BM, MM, MPhil, FRSE

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2022
Principal of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland since 2014
Director at Johns Hopkins University, Peabody Institute 2006-2014
Dean of Cleveland Institute of Music 2001-2006
Director of Music at The Purcell School 1996-2001
Head of Composition and Academic Music at Wells Cathedral School 1990-1996
Trustee – Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Trustee – The Cumnock Tryst
Council member – The Association of European Conservatoires (AEC)

Mrs Elizabeth Shelton, SRN

Governor of Wells Cathedral School since 2020
Safeguarding Governor
Hospital/community nurse 1977-2000
School Nurse, Millfield Prep School 2000-2020
Child Advocate and Mentor, Route 1 since 2018
Mother of one daughter and four sons (OWs)

Join Us